Weekly Roundup #3

This post does NOT contain affiliate links. Just regular links to the products I’m using.

 

This week will be a little short on the list of things I’m enjoying. It’s mostly been clay. Yes, clay.

I’ve worked with clay many times before, but I’ve been doing something a little different. It actually started back up again in December, when I made my own ornaments using Crayola Air Dry Clay  and some gingerbread men and candy cane shaped cookie cutters. Last month I started making fairy doors, which proved fun enough, but then I moved back to cookie cutters.

100_7668

(two out of three doors)

 

This time I’ve been using the previously mentioned clay, and two home made recipes. The first was a basic salt dough recipe, lightly scented with cinnamon. The single batch was enough to make 20 ornaments at most if I rolled it out thin.

100_7670.JPG

(some are salt dough, the others are air dry clay)

 

The second recipe I found online. You cook it up on the stove for a couple minutes, let it cool, and it dries like porcelain clay. With one batch of that, I can make 40 large ornaments tops. I’m actually thinking of turning some of these into Halloween/Christmas ornaments, and some into needle minders.

 

100_7669.JPG

(stage one of painting the cauldrons)

 

I’ll be able to show you some of the other things I’m making with the dough soon enough. See you Sunday!

Leave a comment